Tips on location scouting

I am in the process of looking for a home to film in for a short film. I have looked online and used social media but have come up with very little options. Our shoot dates are closely approaching. Does anyone have any advise and tips on how/where to look for homes? Thanks!

Comments

• Hire a location scout. They will find exactly wgat you are looking for.

• I worked as a location scout in NY for four months. My best results came from actually going door to door and talking to homeowners. I found neighborhoods that fit the description of what we were looking for and I just knocked on the doors, had a flyer printed up and went for it. In NY or LA I would imagine this isn't totally uncommon. If people were home they would let me in or schedule an appointment, if they weren't home I would leave a flyer.

My suggestion is that you print it up on nice paper though (Like heavy card stock) so it looks more professional. Nothing screams sketchy like basic printer paper and a millennial asking if they can come in and take photos of your house. Otherwise it reads as "Hey I'm casing the joint".

Also check FB page - I need a Location!

Let me know if you have any question. If you're not a people person, Location Scouting might be hard to do in some ways. I had good luck because I just do well with connecting with people. Not everyone does, so there is that.

• Thanks for the help guys. Appreciate it!

• Have you tried AirBnB? Several directors/producers I've worked with have found some rather nice shooting locations there...

• Peerspace.com is a GREAT resource. It's like AirBnB for production locations. They have everything from million-dollar homes in the hills, to small photo studios, to cafe/bar locations. I've used them on several shoots, and it worked out great. They even have a concierge service to help you with catering, AV rentals, etc. which I haven't used, but they do offer it.