Working around Net 30 jobs as a freelancer

Hello,

I wanted to see if there was anyone who has any advice regarding getting around net 30 jobs. I work as a freelancer a lot and I know it is typical for companies to be operate as net 30 on payments, but I wanted to know if there were any contract clauses or agreements that would get around this. Ultimately I know I can not accept a job if I know in advance that the production company is net 30, but I wanted to see if anyone else had different experiences working with them.
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Heya! Net 30 is a total mess, obviously. But if your concern is that they will end up not paying you there are some good ways to work around it/adapt to it (if absolutely needed) to ensure that you do actually get paid in a timely manner. That being said, most people I know (myself included) who work with net 30's though, only do so when they have a previous positive relationship with the company.

As for contracts, if it's a net 30 company, chances are they won't be too keen to remove that part from the contract full out, but you can introduce some safety mechanisms for yourself if you aren't already. Put in a 1/15 or 2/15 discount clause (if they pay in the first 15 days, they get a 1% or 2% discount etc.) to motivate them to pay sooner rather than later. You can make this whatever you'd like to be honest. I have graphic artist friend that will write in a 5% discounted if paid in the first 2 weeks (14 days) after their invoice is issued, but who will account for this in their overall price. It makes companies feel like they are getting a great deal by paying quickly, but personally 5% seems like a long way to go for me.